Črnomelj Municipal Museum

From Culture.si
Revision as of 23:55, 13 February 2010 by Janez Premk (talk | contribs)




Contact

This logo is missing!

If you have it, please email it to us.

Mestna muzejska zbirka Črnomelj
Trg svobode 3, Sl-8340 Črnomelj
Phone386 (0) 7 305 6530
TIC Črnomelj, Curator




Phone386 (0) 7 305 6530




Opened in 1997 in Črnomelj castle, Črnomelj Municipal Museum presents the historical development of the town and its significant natural and cultural heritage. The exhibition was modernized in 2003.


Črnomelj

Sources first mention the settlement in 1228 under the name of Schirnomel, it became a town in 1497, that is in the period of the Turkish invasions. The economic development of Črnomelj accelerated after the construction of the Novo mesto–Črnomelj–Karlovac railway, completed in 1914. In the inter-war period the town obtained its first steam-powered saw-mill and foundry, and a brown coal mine was opened in Kanižarica. During the Second World War Črnomelj was occupied by the Italians. On 19-20 February 1944 the first assembly of SNOS, the Slovene Parliament, was held in Črnomelj's cultural hall. After the war, industry started to develop and bridges and buildings which had been destroyed were soon renovated or rebuilt.

Črnomelj castle

The castle, situated in the historical centre of Črnomelj, has passed several phases of construction from its establishment in 13th century. It incorporates few Gothic portals. Today it is a two-storey four-winged building with atrium and an accent at the west wing. There are three plaques built in the outer structure, commemorating the District Committee of the National Liberation, the Founding Assembly of the Slovene Association of Journalists, and Dr Matija Malešič (1933–), a native lawyer and ambassador.

Beside Črnomelj Municipal Museum it houses also the seat of Črnomelj Municipality and TIC. The castle will undergo renovation works in recent future, both of the structure and the programme (i.e. establishment of collection on Turkish raids).

Collections

On the ground floor are presented Roman tombstones found on Ločki Okljuk.

In two small rooms on the first floor the history of the town Črnomelj is shown from prehistoric times to the middle of the 20th century, with emphasis on social activities, economic development of the town and its industrialisation. Several items linked with the history of the town are displayed, including an ambient of a worker's kitchen from the middle of the 20th century.

A permanent exhibition of works by Božidar Jakac (1899–1989) featuring Bela krajina motifs was opened in the Gallery of the Municipal Museum in 1999.

See also

External links

Mestna muzejska zbirka Črnomelj +
TIC Črnomelj +
Mestna muzejska zbirka Črnomelj +
Sl-8340 Črnomelj +
Curator +
Trg svobode 3 +
Opened in 1997 in Črnomelj castle, Črnomelj Municipal Museum presents the historical development of the town and its significant natural and cultural heritage. +
Opened in 1997 in Črnomelj castle, Črnomelj Municipal Museum presents the historical development of the town and its significant natural and cultural heritage. +
+386 / 7 305 6530 +
Has subobject"Has subobject" is a predefined property representing a container construct and is provided by Semantic MediaWiki.
EmailThis property is a special property in this wiki.