|Rajec 4, SI-8250 Brežice|
|Phone||386 (0) 7 493 5000, 386 (0) 7 493 6700|
|Fax||386 (0) 7 493 5005|
At the time of the Turkish invasions of the region a crow, shot by the conquerors, fell into the castle courtyard and warned the residents of the impending danger. Therefore the crow is depicted in the coat of arms.
The place was settled already in Roman times, the fortification was called Romula, testified in the maps Tabula peutingeriana in the 4th century.
In the 16th century the castle was completely rebuilt and extended with four different peripheral wings surrounding an irregularly-shaped inner arcaded courtyard. The castle is outwardly protected with four protruding Renaissance towers.
On the grassy south edge alongside the castle stands the Chapel of St Anna with a Gothic window, first built in the 15th century, rebuilt in the Baroque period and enriched with a decorative stucco interior.
Rebuilt in 1941, the Mokrice Castle was turned into a hotel. The hotel with a massage studio and a restaurant has a number of lounges and salons, of which the wine cellar with the best Slovene wines is among the most visited. The castle and the renovated dairy farm are used for protocolary purposes, business meetings, as well as for wedding ceremonies.
The Mokrice Castle has been often used as a picturesque set for films and videos.